Juexin Marfai Named Finalist for APS Le Roy Apker Award

 We are pleased to announce that Juexin Marfai has been shortlisted as one of the six finalists for the distinguished APS Le Roy Apker Award, a recognition of significant undergraduate research in the field of physics. Juexin is scheduled to present her research in Washington DC on August 1st. We extend our sincere congratulations to Juexin on this noteworthy professional achievement. Please stay informed for future updates on this matter.

Philip Neill Commits to the Biophysics Ph.D. Program at UC San Diego

We are excited to announce that our postbac researcher, Philip Neill (USD class of '22), will begin his Ph.D. in Biophysics at UC San Diego this fall. Philip plans to use his biophysics background to explore molecular neuroscience, aiming to make significant contributions to the field. Join us in congratulating Philip and wishing him success on his academic journey!

Robertson-Anderson gave an invited talk at the Topological Soft Matter Workshop in Edinburgh

Robertson-Anderson gave an invited talk on 'Multiscale rheology of topologically-active DNA blends and composites' at the Topological Soft Matter Workshop at the University of Edinburgh.

Check it out here.

Maya Hendija awarded the SPS Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Research

Maya Hendija (Physics BS, '23) was awarded a prestigious Society of Physics Students *Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award* for her research on active cytoskeleton composites in Dr. Robertson-Anderson's lab and her leadership of USD's SPS Chapter. 

Please access the full details here.

Gregor Leech will pursue a PhD in physics at UC San Diego

Gregor Leech (Biophysics BS, '22) will pursue a PhD in Physics at UC San Diego in Fall 2023, following a year conducting postbaccalaureate research in Dr. Robertson-Anderson's lab. Gregor has co-authored 2 publications, presented his research at 3 national conferences and was the recipient of the prestigious Goldwater Scholarship in 2022.

Maya Hendija and Robertson-Anderson are awarded a Cottrell Postbac Award

Maya Hendija (Physics BS, '23) and Robertson-Anderson were awarded funding from Research Corporation for Maya to conduct a year of full-time postbacalaureate research in Dr. Robertson-Anderson's lab.

Please access full details here.

Robertson-Anderson and Nugent featured in the USD Vista

 Maya Nugent and Robertson-Anderson were featured in an article in the USD Vista describing the awards they received at the 2023 APS March Meeting. Nugent was awarded a Division of Soft Matter Poster Award and Robertson-Anderson was awarded the Prize for Faculty Research at an Undergraduate Institution and was named an APS Fellow

Please access the full story here.

Students Present Research and Win Awards at the American Physical Society March Meeting

  Physics undergraduate Maya Nugent received an award for her outstanding research poster and Dr. Robertson-Anderson received the Prize for a Faculty Member for Research in an Undergraduate Institution for her research and contributions to the professional development of undergraduate physics students.

Maya Nugent awarded a DSOFT Poster Award

Maya Nugent (Biophysics BS, '25) received a prestigous APS Division of Soft Matter Poster Award for the poster she presented at the 2023 APS March Meeting on her research on circadian colloids. Maya was one of only 4 award recipients (out of over 100 posters) and the only undergraduate.

Robertson-Anderson featured speaker at Conversations with the Dean

Robertson-Anderson was invited to talk with administrators and donors about her research with undergraduates.